Todd Smith

Minister of Energy of Government of Ontario

    A graduate of Loyalist College, he embarked on a 16-year career in radio news
    broadcasting, rising to the news director of Quinte Broadcasting. In 2011, Smith was
    nominated to run as the Progressive Conservative candidate provincially.  As a first-time
    candidate, he unseated a well-tenured Liberal cabinet minister.
    While in opposition, Smith served the Prince Edward-Hastings riding for seven years.  He
    served as the PC critic on several files, including small business and red tape reduction,
    Pan and Parapan American Games, the Hydro One sale, natural resources and forestry, and
    Also during that time, he put forward Private Members’ bills dealing with tax fairness for
    realtors, market access for craft beverage producers, and mobile soccer net safety.  He
    also was an instrumental supporter of several important projects in his riding, including
    advocating for the protection of Prince Edward County’s natural south shore, the ongoing
    operations of Belleville’s Sagonaska Demonstration School, and the continued funding and
    sustainability of small and rural hospitals. 
    He has always had an open ear for the interests of business and a willingness to find
    common sense solutions that reduce red tape and barriers to success.
    In June 2018, Smith was elected in the new Bay of Quinte riding as part of a Progressive
    Conservative majority government. Since then he’s been fortunate to have been named to
    several important porfolios under Premier Doug Ford.
    Beyond politics, Smith has been active with numerous charitable and community causes.
    He is a past chair of Operation Red Nose Quinte and he has served as volunteer hockey
    coach for several years.
    Amid all of his commitments, Smith’s family remains his most important priority. He enjoys
    spending time with his wife Tawnya, a local high school teacher, and his daughters Payton
    and Reagan.

    All Sessions by Todd Smith

    8:00 am - 8:10 am

    Welcome and opening remarks with Minister Smith